

Bruce County Council Minutes

Date: May 1, 2025

Location: Council Chambers

County Administration Centre, Walkerton

Present Luke Charbonneau, Warden Jay Kirkland, Councillor

> Kenneth Craig, Councillor Milt McIver, Councillor Mark Goetz, Councillor Chris Peabody, Councillor

Steve Hammell, Councillor James Hanna, Alternate Councillor

Regrets Don Murray, Deputy Warden

Staff Sean Morphy, Deputy Chief Aaron Stauch, Director of

Administrative Officer **Government Relations**

Claire Dodds, Commissioner of Jack Van Dorp, Director of Planning

Community Development and Development

Sam Dinsmore. Director of Ray Lux, Deputy Chief Professional

Corporate Services Standards / CEMC

Cathy McGirr, Director of Lynn Hatten, Deputy Treasurer Museum & Cultural Services

Jennifer Smith, Purchasing

Brooke McLean, Director of Manager

Library Services Ryan Errington, Engineering

Tina Metcalfe, Director of Manager

Human Services Jeff Loney, Economic Development

Jenn Robinson, Director of Manager

Human Resources Benito Russo, Intermediate Planner

Linda White, Clerk Adam Stanley, Director of

Transportation and Julie Ireland, Deputy Clerk

Also Present Dana Keiffer, Wendy Wilson

Environmental Services

1. Call to Order

The meeting of Bruce County Council was called to order by the Warden at 9:30 a.m.

The minutes were recorded by the Deputy Clerk.

2. Additions, Deletions, Amendments to Agenda

Council confirmed by consensus that Item 10. a. - Planning & Development - Consent to Sever B-2024-082 (348 Concession 16 Brockton), would be considered under Delegations, including the two delegations and the staff report.

3. Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

4. Public Notice

5. Announcements

6. Adoption of Minutes

April 3, 2025

Resolution # BCC-2025-056

Moved by Councillor Steve Hammell

Seconded by Councillor Mark Goetz

That the minutes of the April 3, 2025 Council meeting be approved as circulated.

Carried

7. Public Meeting

8. Delegations

The following delegations, previously listed under Item 10. a., were received as Delegations under Item 8.

- a. Dana Keiffer, Planner
- b. Wendy Wilson, Property Owner (Planning Application B-2024-082)

Item 10. a. - Planning & Development - Consent to Sever B-2024-082 (348 Concession 16 Brockton) was considered following the delegations.

9. Reports - for Information

The following reports were presented for information:

- a. Community Development Office Starter Company Program Update
- b. Corporate Services 2023 Annual Investment Report
- c. Corporate Services 2024 Annual Investment Report
- d. Corporate Services Summary of Awarded Tenders 2025 Q1
- e. Museum Archives Q1 2025 Report
- f. Museum Information Report
- g. Office of the CAO-Transfer Part of Campbell Street Bruce Road 86 to Township of Huron Kinloss
- h. Transportation & Environmental Services Durham Street Bridge Construction Schedule Update

10. Reports - for Direction

- a. Planning & Development Consent to Sever B-2024-082 (348 Concession 16 Brockton)
 - Benito Russo, County Planner

Moved by Councillor Kenneth Craig

Seconded by Councillor Mark Goetz

That the proposed surplus farm dwelling severance B-2024-082, be approved with an area of +/- 1.44 hectares, and the Director/Manager be authorized to sign the Decision Sheet.

Amendment:

Moved by Councillor Chris Peabody

Seconded by Councillor Jay Kirkland

That the motion be amended to remove "+/-1.44 hectares" and replace it with "+/-1.86 hectares".

Carried

Motion as Amended:

Resolution # BCC-2025-057

Moved by Councillor Chris Peabody

Seconded by Councillor Jay Kirkland

That the proposed surplus farm dwelling severance B-2024-082, be approved with an area of +/- 1.86 hectares, and the Director/Manager be authorized to sign the Decision Sheet.

Carried

b. Museum - Archives Deaccession Report April 2025

Resolution # BCC-2025-058

Moved by Councillor Chris Peabody

Seconded by Councillor Kenneth Craig

That the items listed in Attachment 1, "Archival Items Recommended for Deaccession April 2025", be approved for deaccession from the Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre's collection.

Carried

c. Transportation & Environmental Services - Off-Road Vehicles and Snowmobiles on County Highways Bylaw Update

Resolution # BCC-2025-059

Moved by Councillor Mark Goetz

Seconded by Councillor Jay Kirkland

That By-law 2024-039 being the Off-Road Vehicles and Snowmobiles on County Highways By-law be amended to allow off-road vehicles and snowmobiles on Bruce Road 23.

Carried

11. Motions and Notice of Motions

12. By-laws

By-laws 2025-020 and 2025-021

Resolution # BCC-2025-060

Moved by Councillor Mark Goetz

Seconded by Councillor Jay Kirkland

That the following by-laws be approved:

By-law 2025-020, being a by-law to stop up and close the part of Campbell Street/Bruce Road 86 described as Part 1 on Registered Reference Plan 3R10967, being Part of PIN 33333-0216 (LT); and

By-law 2025-021, being a by-law to declare as surplus the part of Campbell Street/Bruce Road 86 described as Part 1 on Registered Reference Plan 3R10967, being part of PIN 33333-0216 (LT) and to authorize the conveyance of the land to the Township of Huron-Kinloss.

Carried

- 13. Communications (including Minutes of Boards & Committees)
 - a. Municipality of Brockton Request for Court Security and Prisoner Transportation Costs - Billing Model Reform
 - b. Municipality of Brockton Court Security Costs

- **Nuclear Innovation Institute Annual Report** C.
- d. Support Resolutions for Bruce County's Request for the Provincial and Federal Governments to Enable a Municipal Response to Tariffs
- 14. **Closed Session**
- **15. Report from Closed Session**
- 16. **Confirmation of Proceedings**

Resolution # BCC-2025-061

Moved by Councillor Chris Peabody

Seconded by Councillor Jay Kirkland

That the following by-law be approved:

By-law 2025-022, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 1st day of May 2025

Carried

17. Adjournment

Resolution # BCC-2025-062

Moved by Alternate Councillor James Hanna

Seconded by Councillor Jay Kirkland

ied

That the meeting of Bruce County Council adjourn at 10:21 a.m.	
	Carr
Luke Charbonneau, Warden	
Linda White, Clerk	