

# **Striking Committee Report to Council - for Direction**

Title: Revisions to the Procedural By-law

From: Linda White, Clerk, on behalf of the Striking Committee

Date: September 5, 2024

Report Number: CAO-2024-018

## Striking Committee Recommendation:

That a by-law be introduced to amend the Procedural By-law as follows:

- 1. That Section 22.15 be amended to appoint the Clerk as Returning Officer, and the CAO and Deputy CAO be appointed as scrutineers for elections held during the inaugural sessions.
- 2. That a nomination period for the election of Warden and Deputy Warden be added.
- 3. That Section 21.1 be amended to allow any three members of Council to be appointed to the Grey Bruce Board of Health.
- 4. That Section 21.2 be amended to allow any four members of Council to be appointed to the Bruce County Library Board, one of which may be the Warden or Deputy Warden, serving for the duration of the term of the position.

#### **Report Summary:**

The Striking Committee met on August 1st and recommended the above-noted changes to the Procedural By-law.

#### Background/Analysis:

#### 1. Section 22 - Term of Office and Nominations

Currently the County Solicitor serves as the Returning Officer for the election of Warden and Deputy Warden; and the Clerk and CAO serve as the scrutineers. Being that the County Solicitor is no longer located within close proximity to the County Administration Building, it is recommended that the Clerk serve as the Returning Officer to reduce the legal cost associated with the election. The CAO and Deputy CAO can serve as scrutineers.

#### Existing wording in the Procedural By-law

22.15 The Returning Officer for the election is to be an active Senior Partner of the County's Solicitor's firm.

22.16 The Clerk and the Chief Administrative Officer are the scrutineers and are to be bound to secrecy regarding the number of votes received by the candidates.

#### **Proposed Wording**

- 22.15 The Clerk, or designate, shall serve as the Returning Officer for the election.
- 22.16 The Chief Administrative Officer and the Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, or designate, shall serve as scrutineers and are to be bound to secrecy regarding the number of votes received by the candidates.

Should a secret electronic poll be used, no scrutineers shall be used.

#### **New Section 22.3 - Nomination Period**

Currently nominations are called for at the Inaugural meeting which does not allow time for the Clerk to prepare ballots, nor does it offer a formal opportunity for the Members to consider their options for voting.

Creating a nomination period that ends at noon eight (8) days prior to the Inaugural Session would allow the Clerk sufficient time to add the nominations to the agenda and to prepare for the election.

Members would be allowed to be nominated for more than one position and could withdraw their nomination prior to the election being held. This would allow a member to run for Deputy Warden if unsuccessful for the Warden position.

# **Recommended Wording for Nomination Period**

Nominations will be received in writing by the Clerk until noon eight (8) days prior to the Inaugural Session. The Nominations must include the mover, seconder, candidate's name and position seeking nomination.

A Member may be nominated for more than one position. A Member may withdraw their nomination in writing prior to the Inaugural Meeting. A candidate must confirm their desire to let their stand for the position immediately prior to the vote being held.

## 2. Section 21.1 Grey Bruce Board of Health

Currently the Warden and two members of Council are appointed for a two-year term. The existing term expires December 2024. To assist in distributing the workload of the Warden, consideration could be given to amending the wording to allow any three members of Council to be appointed, without making specific reference to the Warden.

#### **Existing Wording:**

The Warden and two members of Bruce County Council are appointed for a two-year term to the Grey Bruce Board of Health.

#### Proposed wording:

Three members of Bruce County Council are appointed for a two-year term to the Grey Bruce Board of Health.

## 3. Section 21.2 Bruce County Public Library Board

Currently three members of Council are appointed for a four-year term and the Warden serves as ex-officio member while serving as Warden. For similar reasons as previously stated, the Procedural By-law may be amended to more evenly distribute the workload of the Warden by adding the flexibility to allow Council to appoint any four members for a four-year term. The proposed amendment will allow Council to appoint any four members for a four-year term, with the option of appointing the Warden or Deputy Warden as one of the members serving as ex-officio member for the duration of their appointment to the position.

If this recommendation is approved, the Bruce County Public Library Board's "By-law-Composition of the Board" will need to be reviewed and updated in 2024, rather than at the beginning of the term of the Board in 2026, as the by-law currently states the Warden shall ex-officio be a member of the Board.

#### Existing Wording, in part:

The Board shall be comprised of seven members as follows:

- a) Warden
- b) Three elected members. Preference may be given to appointing one member from each of the following areas: Coastline (Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine, Saugeen Shores); Inland (Arran-Elderslie, Brockton, South Bruce); North (Northern Bruce Peninsula, South Bruce Peninsula).
- c) Three non-elected members. Preference may be given to appointing on member from each of the following areas: Coastline (Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine, Saugeen Shores); Inland (Arran-Elderslie, Brockton, South Bruce); North (Northern Bruce Peninsula, South Bruce Peninsula).

#### Proposed wording:

The Board shall be comprised of seven members as follows:

- a) Four members of Council. One of the four members may be the Warden or Deputy Warden serving as ex-officio member for the duration of their appointment to the position. Preference may be given to appointing members from each of the following areas: Coastline (Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine, Saugeen Shores); Inland (Arran-Elderslie, Brockton, South Bruce); North (Northern Bruce Peninsula, South Bruce Peninsula).
- b) Three non-elected members. Preference may be given to appointing one member from each of the following areas: Coastline (Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine, Saugeen Shores); Inland (Arran-Elderslie, Brockton, South Bruce); North (Northern Bruce Peninsula, South Bruce Peninsula).

# Financial/Staffing/Legal/IT Considerations:

There is no financial impact to this report.

#### Report Author:

Linda White, Clerk

# Approved for Submission:

Sean Morphy, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer

# Attachments:

Procedural By-law 2023-043 with recommended changes