Allison Penner, Deputy Clerk OV City of Owen Sound 808 2nd Avenue East Owen Sound, ON N4K 2H4



Telephone: 519-376-4440 ext. 1235 Facsimile: 519-371-0511 Email: apenner@owensound.ca Website: www.owensound.ca

July 11, 2024

Via Email

The Honourable Sylvia Jones Deputy Premier and Minister of Health

Dear Minister Jones:

Re: Support for County of Bruce Request for the Ontario Ministry of Health to Pause Service Level Reductions

Owen Sound City Council, at its meeting held on July 8, 2024, considered the above-noted matter, and passed Resolution No. R-240708-008 as follows:

"THAT in consideration of correspondence listed on the July 8, 2024 consent agenda from the County of Bruce, City Council:

- Supports the request that the Ontario Ministry of Health pause service level reductions and closures at hospitals within the Bruce, Grey, and Huron regions until detailed studies can be undertaken to understand how the healthcare system and broader social safety net can be safeguarded; and
- 2. Directs that this resolution be circulated to all municipalities in Bruce, Grey and Huron, local MPs and MPPs, and to the Prime Minister, Premier of Ontario, and the Deputy Premier and Minister of Health."

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

A Ponnon.

Allison Penner Deputy Clerk

cc: All municipalities in Bruce, Grey and Huron Counties The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Honourable Lisa Thompson, MPP, Huron-Bruce Rick Byers, MPP, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound Brian Saunderson, MPP, Simcoe-Grey Ben Lobb, MP, Huron-Bruce Alex Ruff, MP, Grey-Bruce-Owen Sound Terry Dowdall, MP, Simcoe-Grey



June 24, 2024

Sent via Email

The Honourable Sylvia Jones Deputy Premier of Ontario and Minister of Health

Dear Minister Jones,

Re : Request for the Ontario Ministry of Health to Pause Service Level Reductions

At the June 20, 2024 Regular Council meeting for the County of Bruce, the following resolution was passed:

Resolution # C-2024-097

Moved by	Councillor Mark Goetz
----------	-----------------------

Seconded by Deputy Warden Luke Charbonneau

Whereas the Counties of Bruce, Grey and Huron, within the traditional territory of the Saugeen Ojibway Nation, are primarily rural communities with a collective population of less than 250,000 supplying 30% of Ontario's electricity and contributing more than \$4 billion annually to Ontario's GDP;

And whereas, our region is relied upon to contribute to the pressing electrification of Canadian society through major energy investments, including Bruce Power's Major Component Replacement; and other large-scale initiatives under consideration such as 4800 megawatts in new nuclear electricity generation; a nuclear waste deep geological repository; a pumped storage facility; and a large-scale battery storage facility;

And whereas, a significant proportion of the world's supply of medical isotopes (used to sterilize equipment and treat cancer) are produced by Bruce Power, in our region;



And whereas, our local health care systems are struggling with limited resources that impact service levels, emergency room closures, access to primary care, and the sustainability of our systems;

And whereas, the Rural Ontario Municipal Association has called for a new approach to resourcing rural health care to ensure its sustainability, through their "Fill the Gap Closer to Home" proposal;

Now Therefore, be it resolved that, the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce calls upon the Ontario Ministry of Health to implement an immediate pause on all planned and future service level reductions and closures at hospitals within the Bruce, Grey Huron region;

And that, this pause remain in effect until detailed studies can be undertaken to understand how we can safeguard our healthcare system and broader social safety net, to ensure the success of our region while supporting nationally significant projects;

And that, Council directs this resolution be circulated to all municipalities in Bruce, Grey and Huron, local MPs and MPPs, and to the Prime Minister, Premier of Ontario, and the Deputy Premier and Minister of Health.

Carried

Your response to this request is urgently required. Please reach out to our Government Relations team to discuss further:

Aaron Stauch, Director, Government Relations <u>astauch@brucecounty.on.ca</u>

Sincerely,

Julie Iteland

Julie Ireland, Deputy Clerk

cc. All municipalities in Bruce, Grey and Huron Counties The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada



Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Honourable Lisa Thompson, MPP, Huron-Bruce Rick Byers, MPP, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound Brian Saunderson, MPP, Simcoe-Grey Ben Lobb, MP, Huron-Bruce Alex Ruff, MP, Grey-Bruce Owen Sound Terry Dowdall, MP, Simcoe-Grey