

Bruce County Council Minutes

Date: April 18, 2024 Time: 9:30 a.m.

Location: Council Chambers

County Administration Centre, Walkerton

Present Chris Peabody, Warden Steve Hammell, Councillor

Luke Charbonneau, Deputy Milt McIver, Councillor Warden Don Murray, Councillor

Warden Don Murray, Councillor Kenneth Craig, Councillor Jay Kirkland, Councillor

Mark Goetz, Councillor

Staff Christine MacDonald, Chief Jenn Robinson, Director of Human

Administrative Officer Resources

Sean Morphy, Deputy Chief Lynn Hatten, Acting Director of

Administrative Officer Corporate Services

Claire Dodds, Commissioner of Aaron Stauch, Director of Community Development Intergovernmental Relations

Michael Kirkpatrick, Director of Jeff Loney, Manager of Economic

Information Technology Services Development

Cathy McGirr, Director of Museum Matthew Meade, Corporate Strategic

& Cultural Services Initiatives Specialist

Brooke McLean, Director of Library Deb Sturdevant, Archivist

Services Jake Presseault, Administrator,

Tina Metcalfe, Director of Human Gateway Haven

Services Tania Dickson, Housing Services

Steve Schaus, Director and Chief Manager

of Paramedic Services Andrew Beumer, Environmental

Adam Stanley, Director of Services Manager Transportation and Environmental Linda White, Clerk

Services Julie Ireland, Deputy Clerk

Jack Van Dorp, Director of Planning

and Development

Also Present Greg Young; John Linton

1. Call to Order

The meeting of Bruce County Council was called to order at 9:30 a.m.

The minutes were recorded by the Deputy Clerk.

2. Additions, Deletions, Amendments to Agenda

3. Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

4. Public Notice

5. Announcements

6. Adoption of Minutes

Resolution # C-2024-063

Moved by Councillor Don Murray

Seconded by Councillor Mark Goetz

That the minutes of the April 4, 2024 Council meeting be approved as circulated.

Carried

7. Public Meeting

8. Delegations

9. Reports - for Information

The following reports were presented for information:

a. Museum & Cultural Services-Museum Expansion Report 2024

- b. Transportation & Environmental Services-Bruce County Active
 Transportation and Recreational Trails Master Plan-Public Review
- c. Corporate Services-2024 Annual Repayment Limit
- 10. Reports for Direction
 - a. Government Relations Update April 2024

Resolution # C-2024-064

Moved by Councillor Kenneth Craig

Seconded by Deputy Warden Luke Charbonneau

That Council endorses the additional priorities identified as part of the ongoing Government Relations policy agenda.

Carried

b. Government Relations-AMO's Social and Economic Prosperity Review

Resolution # C-2024-065

Moved by Deputy Warden Luke Charbonneau

Seconded by Councillor Jay Kirkland

That Council endorses the Association of Municipalities of Ontario call for a Social and Economic Prosperity Review.

Carried

c. Community Development-Southwestern Ontario Isotope Coalition - Updated Terms of Reference

Resolution # C-2024-066

Moved by Councillor Kenneth Craig

Seconded by Councillor Mark Goetz

That Bruce County join the Southwestern Ontario Isotope Coalition as a Regional Collaborative Partner; and

That Bruce County Council appoint the Warden and the Manager of Economic Development to represent the County on the SOIC Steering Committee.

Carried

d. Human Services-Shareholders Meeting for the Bruce County Housing Corporation

Resolution # C-2024-067

Moved by Deputy Warden Luke Charbonneau

Seconded by Councillor Mark Goetz

- 1. That the Warden and CAO be given authority to sign the Consent of the Shareholder to an Exemption from Audit; and
- That the unaudited financial statements of the Corporation for the fiscal period ended December 31, 2023 be approved and the same are hereby accepted by the Sole Shareholder of the Corporation: and
- 3. That BDO Canada LLP be appointed the accountants of the Bruce County Housing Corporation to hold office until the completion of the next Annual Meeting of the Voting Shareholder of the Corporation, or until a successor is appointed, at such remuneration as may be fixed by the Board of Directors and the Board of Directors is hereby authorized to fix such remuneration; and
- 4. That Duncan, Linton LLP be appointed as the corporate solicitors of the Corporation to hold office until the completion of the next Annual Meeting of the Voting Shareholder of the Corporation, or until a successor is appointed, as such remuneration as may be fixed by the Board of Directors and the Board of Directors is hereby authorized to fix such remuneration.
- 5. That Luke Charbonneau, Kenneth Craig, Mark Goetz, Steve Hammell, Jay Kirkland, Milt McIver, Donald Murray, and Chris Peabody all of whom are resident Canadians, consent to being elected and are hereby elected Directors of the Corporation to hold office until the completion of the next Annual Meeting of the Voting Shareholder of the Corporation or until their successor is duly

- elected subject to the provisions of the by-laws of the Corporation and the provisions of the Business Corporations Act (Ontario); and
- 6. That all acts, by-laws, Resolutions, contracts, proceedings, elections, appointments and payments enacted, passed, made, done or taken by the Directors and Officers of the Bruce County Housing Corporation since the date of the last Annual Meeting of the Members of the Corporation be and the same are hereby approved, ratified and confirmed.

Carried

11. Motions and Notice of Motions

12. By-laws

a. By-law 2024-025 - Assume and Dedicate a 2.134 Metre Widening to the County of Bruce

Resolution # C-2024-068

Moved by Councillor Don Murray

Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That the following by-law be approved:

By-law 2024-025, being a by-law to establish and assume Part 4, 3R10817, being a 2.134 metre widening adjacent to Bruce Road 6 East (Absalom Street East), as part of the public highway system for the County of Bruce

Carried

- 13. Communications (including Minutes of Boards & Committees)
- 14. Closed Session
- 15. Report from Closed Session
- 16. Confirmation of Proceedings
 - a. By-law 2024-026 Confirmatory By-law

Resolution # C-2024-069

Moved by

	Seco	nded by	Councillor Jay Kirkland	
		That the follo	owing by-law be approved:	
		By-law 2024-026, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the County of Bruce at its meeting held on the 18th day of April, 2024.		
			Са	arried
17.	Adjournme	nt		
	Resolution	# C-2024-07	0	
	Moved by	Depu	uty Warden Luke Charbonneau	
	That the meeting of Bruce County Council be adjourned at 10:46 a.m.			
			Са	arried
Chris Peabody, Warden				
Linda White, Clerk				

Councillor Steve Hammell