	Board Report	
45.0°N 81.3°W	То:	Mark Goetz, Chair and Members of the Bruce County Housing Corporation
	From:	Tina Metcalfe Director of Human Services
	Date:	April 18, 2024
	Re:	Bruce County Housing Corporation 2024 Annual General Meeting

Staff Recommendation:

- 1. That Luke Charbonneau, Kenneth Craig, Mark Goetz, Steve Hammell, Jay Kirkland, Milt McIver, Donald Murray, and Chris Peabody all of whom are resident Canadians, be and are hereby appointed Directors of the Corporation to hold office until the completion of the next Annual Meeting of the Voting Shareholder of the Corporation or until their successor is duly elected subject to the provisions of the by-laws of the Corporation and the provisions of the Business Corporations Act (Ontario).
- 2. That the following be appointed Officers of the Bruce County Housing Corporation to hold the office referred to opposite of their respective name until a successor is appointed:

Chair	Chris Peabody
Vice-Chair	Luke Charbonneau
Chief Executive Officer	Tina Metcalfe
Treasurer	Lynn Hatten
Secretary	Linda White
Officer	Devon Gordon
Officer	Tania Dickson

- 3. That BDO Canada LLP be appointed the accountants of the Bruce County Housing Corporation to hold office until the completion of the next Annual Meeting of the Voting Shareholder of the Corporation, or until a successor is appointed, at such remuneration as may be fixed by the Board of Directors and the Board of Directors is hereby authorized to fix such remuneration.
- 4. That Duncan, Linton LLP be appointed as the corporate solicitor of the Bruce County Housing Corporation until a successor is appointed.
- 5. That the unaudited financial statements as approved by the Shareholders at the proceeding meeting of the Shareholder be approved.
- 6. That all acts, by-laws, resolutions, contracts, proceedings, elections, appointments, and payments enacted, passed, made, done or taken by the Directors or Officers of the Bruce

County Housing Corporation since the date of the last Annual Meeting of the Members of the Corporation be and the same are hereby approved, ratified and confirmed.

7. That the next Shareholders meeting, and Annual General Meeting will take place on April 17, 2025.

Background:

- 1. Bruce County Housing Corporation (BCHC) is a distinct legal entity in which the County of Bruce is the single shareholder. As such it is a legal requirement for each Director to provide consent to act as Director for the Corporation.
- 2. It is a legal requirement for BCHC to appoint officers for the board.

Chair of the Board	
Vice-Chair of the Board	
Chief Executive Officer	
Treasurer	
Secretary	
Officer	
Officer	

Chris Peabody Luke Charbonneau Tina Metcalfe; Lynn Hatten; Linda White; Devon Gordon; and Tania Dickson

- 3. The Bruce County Housing Corporation is required to appoint an accountant.
- 4. The law firm of Duncan Linton LLP is recommended for appointment. The fee for service will be based on the same fee structure as the County of Bruce.
- 5. As per the Business Corporations Act, it is a legal requirement of the BCHC Board of Directors to approve the unaudited financial statement at the Annual General Meeting.
- 6. That the sole Shareholder and Directors are required to sign the waiver to ensure there are no claims that meetings are not properly constituted.
- 7. It is a legal requirement to set the date of the next Shareholders meeting at the AGM.

Financial/Staffing/Legal/IT Considerations:

Financial and legal considerations are confirmed within the reort.

There are no staffing, or IT considerations associated with this report.

Interdepartmental Consultation:

The Corporate Services Department and the Office of the CAO provided information and direction related to this report.

Link to Strategic Goals and Elements:

Report Author:

Tania Dickson, Housing Services Manager

Departmental Approval:

Tina Metcalfe Director of Human Services

Approved for Submission:

Christine MacDonald Chief Administrative Officer