

Roger Cook, Manager Saugeen Mobility and Regional Transit 603 Bruce Line 19, Walkerton, ON NOG 2V0 <u>roger@saugeenmobility.ca</u>

June 17, 2020

## Sent by Email

Dear Mr. Cook,

On May 12, 2020 the Council of the Municipality of Brockton passed the following resolution:

## Resolution 20-12-04 Moved by D. Leifso Seconded by D. Gieruszak

Whereas Saugeen Mobility and Regional Transit (SMART) supplies an essential specialized transit service for many vulnerable and mobility challenged individuals in our community; and

Whereas the Municipality of Brockton is a member of the SMART organization; and

Whereas each member municipality financially supports the SMART organization and the service provided to each member community; and

Whereas there are multiple agencies supplying specialized transit services across Grey and Bruce Counties creating a fractured service; and

Whereas the duplication of these services is a costly and inefficient way to operate a transit service; and

Whereas the cost for SMART to deliver service continues to rise impacting the burden on taxpayers;

Now therefore be it resolved that the Council of the Municipality of Brockton hereby requests Saugeen Mobility and Regional Transit (SMART) to explore the amalgamation of specialized transit services within Grey and Bruce Counties and transition to a County-wide operation to potentially reduce transit duplication and develop transit efficiencies.

And further that a supporting letter be forwarded to the Councils of Grey and Bruce Counties and all lower-tier municipalities within Grey and Bruce Counties.

## Carried.



Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further inquiries, or require additional information.

Sincerely,

-n

Fiona Hamilton, Clerk Municipality of Brockton 519-881-2223 Ext. 124 or <u>fhamilton@brockton.ca</u>

CC: County of Grey County of Bruce Municipality of Arran-Elderslie Town of the Blue Mountains Township of Chatsworth Township of Georgian Bluffs Municipality of Grey Highlands Town of Hanover Township of Huron-Kinloss Municipality of Kincardine Town of Meaford Municipality of North Bruce Peninsula City of Owen Sound Town of Saugeen Shores Municipality of South Bruce Municipality of South Bruce Peninsula Township of Southgate Municipality of West Grey