

Transportation & Environmental Services Committee Minutes

June 18, 2020 Electronic (Remote) Meeting

Present Mitch Twolan, Warden Anne Eadie, Councillor

Milt McIver, Councillor

Robert Buckle, Councillor

Luke Charbonneau, Councillor

Chris Peabody, Councillor

Staff Sandra Datars Bere, Chief Susan Petrik, Director of

Administrative Officer Workplace Engagement Services

Miguel Pelletier, Director of Kara Van Myall, Director of Transportation and Environmental Planning and Development

Services Donna Van Wyck, Clerk

Michael Kirkpatrick, Director of Darlene Batte, Deputy Clerk Information Technology Services Jim Donohoe, Engineering

Brooke McLean, Director of Library Manager

Services Kevin Predon, Forestry

Cathy McGirr, Director of Museum and Technician

Cultural Services Andrew Beumer, Trails Manager

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 10:37 a.m.

2. Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

3. Action Items

a. Bruce Road 30 section D, 1st Avenue North, Chesley Reconstruction Cost Share Agreement

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That a by-law be introduced authorizing the Warden and Clerk to execute a Cost-share Agreement between the County of Bruce and the Corporation of the Municipality of Arran-Elderslie (AE) to facilitate their respective responsibilities and subsequent costs for the construction of watermain, sanitary main, storm sewer and roadway project on Bruce Road 30, Section D, 1st Avenue North, Chesley.

Carried

b. Boyd's Creek Culvert (8628200) Replacement on Bruce Road 86, Huron-Bruce boundary Road

Moved by Councillor Chris Peabody Seconded by Councillor Janice Jackson

That the transfer of \$14,000 from the Culvert reserve to Boyd's Creek Culvert (Ref: 8628200) to fund Pre-Engineering costs for the cost share project with Huron County to replace Boyd's Creek Culvert located on Bruce Road 86, Huron/Bruce boundary road be approved.

Carried

c. Request for Permission to Trap Nuisance Beaver in Bruce County

Moved by Councillor Janice Jackson Seconded by Councillor Luke Charbonneau

That Terence Firetto-Gross be permitted to trap nuisance beaver in Bruce County from June 1, 2020 to June 1, 2021.

Carried

d. 2020 Wayfinding Sign Program Partnership Funding

Moved by Councillor Janice Jackson Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That the Director of the Transportation and Environmental Services Department be authorized to sign the necessary agreement with

Regional Tourism Ontario 7 (RTO7) for the 2020 Wayfinding Sign program partnership funding.

Carried

e. County Road Network Service Levels

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor Steve Hammell

That the County Road Network Service Levels be approved as presented.

Carried

f. West Road Project Update

Moved by Councillor Luke Charbonneau Seconded by Warden Mitch Twolan

That the County carry out repair work on the West Road.

Carried

Moved by Councillor Luke Charbonneau Seconded by Councillor Steve Hammell

That the County continue work on the Environmental Assessment for the West Road Reconstruction Project.

Carried

4. Information Items

The following reports were received for information:

- a. Timber Sales and Harvesting in County Forests
- Salt Comparison Testing
- c. 2020 Federal Gas Tax and Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund Projects
- d. Lindsay Tract Logging Damage
- e. Results of Road Assessments

5. Act on Recommendations

Moved by Warden Mitch Twolan Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That in accordance with the Procedure By-law, staff be authorized and directed to give effect to the actions of the Transportation & Environmental Services Committee in respect of all resolutions passed during the June 18, 2020 meeting.

Carried

6. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Transportation and Environmental Services Committee will be held electronically on July 9, 2020.

7. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Janice Jackson

That the meeting of the Transportation and Environmental Services Committee adjourn at 11:44 a.m.

Carried

Councillor Milt McIver, Chair

Transportation & Environmental Services Committee